Pages Navigation Menu

Kids' book news, reviews and interviews

Book Reviews: Itch, Simon Mayo

Book Reviews: Itch, Simon Mayo
Itch by Simon Mayo
Published by Corgi Childrens on 25 October 2012
five-stars
Meet Itch - an accidental, accident-prone hero. Science is his weapon. Elements are his gadgets. All-action adventure perfect for fans of Alex Rider and Young Bond.

Itchingham Lofte - known as Itch - is fourteen, and loves science, especially chemistry. He's also an element-hunter: he's collecting all the elements in the periodic table. Which has some interesting and rather destructive results in his bedroom.

Then, Itch makes a discovery. A new element, never seen before. At first no one believes him - but soon someone hears about the strange new rock and wants it for himself. And Itch and his family are catapulted into a breathless adventure with terrifyingly high stakes . . .

The debut novel from BBC radio presenter Simon Mayo.

Review by Dylan, 10

 

Well, it’s been a while since I did a review. I haven’t been reading as much as usual because I became addicted to The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds. T’was nice. How could I resist trying to collect all 100 Maimais? And getting all 28 Heart Pieces? And then I had to do it all again in Hero Mode.

But Mum lured me off my 3DS by finding a book she said I’d like – Itch – and then offering me a packet of sweets to read it.

It was worth it.

I read it. It was good. I recommend you read it :)

. . .

What, you want more?  Surely that’s all you need from a review, and now I can go back to Zelda! The sweets are already in my stomach so you can’t have them back – not in any way that wouldn’t make you sick!

Just joking. You can trust me.

So, here goes.

Itch, by author Simon Mayo, is a brilliant book about 14-year-old Itchingham Lofte, who loves science and is trying to collect all the elements in the periodic table. I have been interested in the periodic table since I saw it on Sheldon’s shower curtain in The Big Bang Theory. This made the book very interesting for me.

Also, my Uncle Paul believes in aliens (He thinks they live underneath an airport in Denver in America) and says there are alien elements that aren’t on the periodic table. He was impressed I knew about the ‘island of stability’ and I knew there might be an undiscovered element, number 126, that was stable. I spoiled it by saying Simon Mayo told me and showing him my ‘Itch’ book, but he still thought I was clever.

I don’t think Simon Mayo’s element 126 is to do with aliens. I read the fact-bit at the back of the book (I like these. Can you do more fact-bits please, other authors?) Simon Mayo says element 126 is linked to the ‘Gai Theory’ that says Earth is alive and doesn’t like things humans do so it makes things to look after itself. This idea seems as mad as aliens (sorry Mr Mayo and Uncle Paul).

Thinking about it, if you were an alien it would be a cunning way to sneak your element into the world, to write a book about it so people start to talk about it.

I googled Simon Mayo and I didn’t find anything about him being an alien, but you never know. My mum says if we meet him we can ask if he knows anyone in Denver and see if he gives himself away .

Anyway. The book. It is an exciting book. In many thriller books, some thrill is missing because you know everyone is going to stay alive. But there were times while I thought Itch might not survive until the end. That made it hard to put down and I read 200 pages in one night. Anthony Horowitz (he wrote about Alex Rider) said ‘you’ll be itching to read more’. He is right. So start reading and get itchy.

five-stars

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>