Pages Navigation Menu

Kids' book news, reviews and interviews

The D’Evil Diaries, by Tatum Flynn

The D’Evil Diaries, by Tatum Flynn
The D'Evil Diaries by Tatum Flynn
Series: The D'Evil Diaries #1
Published by orchard books on 2 April 2015
Format: ARC
five-stars
A hilarious, crackling, original debut about an unlucky demon, perfect for fans of Derek Landy and Eoin Colfer.

Twelve-year-old Jinx is hopeless at being evil. Which is a bit of a problem when you're Lucifer's youngest son. But when Jinx runs away from Pandemonium, the walled city he's lived in all his life, he bumps into dead girl Tommy - who's been sent to Hell for accidentally feeding her nasty uncle to a circus lion - and unearths a conspiracy that could up-end the entire underworld.

Cue shenanigans involving carnivorous carousel horses, death-trap-riddled libraries and hungry quicksand. Now the fate of the realm rests in the hands of its most unlikely demon and a girl who shouldn't be in Hell at all...

Review by Rachel

I have to admit to a bit of bias here. Tatum Flynn is my crit-partner and I like her very much, so I probably wouldn’t have written a bad review of her new book. However,  I could have written nothing at all. So this is an honest review . . .

 

The minute I discovered The D’Evil Diaries was about a boy who wishes he could be more evil, I knew I’d like Tatum’s book. I am a compulsively nice person (I blame my mum) who’d love to be a criminal mastermind. So I sympathise with Lucifer’s youngest son, Jinx, as he fails miserably in his devillish demon duties and wishes he could be more villainous to please his father.

The D’Evil Diaries is great read. Mainly because Tatum Flynn is funny. Really funny. The book is full of quietly hilarious lines like the witty, ‘I wish she would be braver than me more quietly.’ I also enjoyed the deft comic asides with which Tatum demonstrates the hideous ‘goodness’ that Jinx oozes in his wake – Dracula leaving the dark side for the Milk Marketing Board, and Blackbeard the Pirate abandoning the life of bloody-thirsty piracy to become head of the Aquatic Creatures Protection Society.

Humour doesn’t come at the expense of plot. As Jinx runs away from Pandemonium, picking up dead-girl sidekick Tommy (who seems to have been sent to hell by accident), the plot races along, quite literally, as the two reluctant heroes flee packs of mutant killer carousel horses, snarling woxes (wolf-slash-fox with added saliva) and murderous quicksand.

The relationship between Jinx and Tommy is convincingly sweet with some great, fast-paced banter:

She crossed her arms. ‘Okay then, we have a deal. But if I end up as demon toast…’

‘I’ll be expecting pointy metal right between the eyes.’

‘Just so we’re clear.’

It doesn’t hurt that both main characters are immensely likeable, particularly Jinx with his unique brand of ‘accidental heroism’ (watch out for the moment he wipes out the wox). The background characters are equally convincing, and as someone whose Pullmanesque-daemon would be a sloth, I was delighted to discover Loiter, the three-toed sloth and Patron Demon of Laziness.

Daft, hilarious, clever and utterly silly, I can’t recommend this book highly enough. D’evillishly good.

 

five-stars

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>